San Francisco has a history of tearing down freeways. In the 1990s, both the Embarcadero Freeway and the Central Freeway were torn down after being damaged in the 1989 Loma Prieta earthquake. Now, Mayor Ed Lee’s office is floating a new plan to raze the tail end of Interstate 280 as a way to make the surrounding neighborhood more walkable and livable, and to spur development. But the plan would mean moving an important Caltrain railyard, and critics worry about how surface streets will handle the increased traffic.

Jayme Ackemann, communications manager for Caltrain
John Rahaim, director of planning for the City and County of San Francisco

• colinvgallagher

As a Mission Bay resident I feel very strongly that taking down the Highway 280 offramps would be a bad idea for pedestrian safety in the neighborhood. It is simply not possible to divert the commuter traffic between San Francisco and the South Bay that usually travels along Highway 280 onto surface roads without an increase in accidents. Is it really worth having a greater number of fatalities and catastrophic injuries just so that San Francisco’s officials can have more property tax revenues from the condominium buildings to be built in place of the 280 offramps?

• leftbrain99

1. Just curious – how do you know it’s not possible, or are you just speculating?
      2. I think you should consider that when people lose the option of the freeway, it will not be a 1:1 ratio of people that chose the surface roads in that same area. They will likely divert to other freeway options (commuters between east bay and south bay / peninsula will take different routes, and many others will chose mass public transportation.

• I posted some about this above, but I don’t think all of the traffic you’re seeing is SF resident traffic.

I’m guessing most of it based on where I see the cars coming from are not from SF, but from the east bay.