OaklandZoo

The 90-year-old Oakland Zoo is home to giraffes, tortoises and African elephants. Now Zoo officials are asking Alameda County residents for additional funds to take care of those animals. Under Measure A1, a parcel tax would pay for repairs, veterinary care and field trips for schoolchildren. But opponents of Measure A1 claim the Zoo intends to use part of the $114 million proceeds for a controversial expansion project.

Guests:
Ruth Malone, co-chair of Friends of Knowland Park, an advocacy group that aims to protect the 500-acre Wildland Park in Oakland from development and a professor in the school of nursing at UCSF
Nik Dehejia, director of strategic initiatives for The Oakland Zoo

• Gloria

Why should the property owners shoulder the cost? I’m not a property owner but I’m concerned that folks who already shoulder much of the cost for many things are being asked for more.

• Tom In Oakland

If Measure A1 isn’t about the Expansion, why isn’t it written explicitly to say what it IS for OTHER than that. And if the Zoo cares so much about Knowland Park’s future, why won’t they pledge in writing to protect the undeveloped parts, leaving them undeveloped and protected in perpetuity?

• John

Nick claims it is $12 per year. It is $12 -$16 per 100k per year. A typical house in the bay area is 400k, therefore it would be $50 a year for a zoo that would be better as a wild animal reserve.

• stilettoace

Not to mention that businesses, large and small, will pay $72/year. But everyone knows, businesses don’t pay taxes. Customers pay more for their goods and services, so it’s people who pay taxes.
      We all knew that, right?

• Chemist150