TelegraphbyNancy248x140

Berkeley has a controversial new ordinance on the ballot this November. If enacted, Measure S will ban sitting on sidewalks in the city’s commercial districts during the day. Proponents say people camping out on sidewalks are driving customers away from local stores and restaurants and hurting Berkeley’s business community. Opponents say it will divert police resources and that it doesn’t solve the problem of homelessness.

Guests:
Carolyn Jones, reporter for the San Francisco Chronicle
Davida Coady, medical director for Options Recovery Services, which provides intensive substance-abuse treatment to the public, largely homeless and formerly incarcerated
Elisa Della-Piana, director of the Neighborhood Justice Clinic, East Bay Community Law Center

• Frustrated

I have been working in downtown Berkeley for the last 8 years and I support the sit-lie ordinance. It has gotten so bad walking downtown that I hardly ever go to the area restaurants for lunch. There are often young transient people sitting by Mcdonalds or the bookstore. They are very rude and I cannot count how many times I have been intimidated by them. One of my coworkers suffered the humiliation of one of them dump what smelled like bong water and piss on her shoes on her way to Bart for a meeting in the city! How another coworker crosses the street so she does not have to walk by them and then crosses back to get to the Bart to get home. Aaaaahhh, then there are the times when I have seen someone crouched down defecating or the woman who at lunch time pulled her pants down and peed by Mcdonalds on University. Every one who was walking stopped in their tracks and waited for her to finish and pull up her pants. It was appalling! I feel bad for the few people who are very quiet and just leave their cups out for you to offer to them. But it has gotten so far out of hand, I can no longer tolerate it. I feel like I cannot even enjoy my city anymore at least the downtown part of it. Nev