OldPersonCaneGeneric

A large majority of Californians say they would prefer a natural death, at home, and at little expense to their families. But a new survey by the California HealthCare Foundation indicates that more often than not, they don’t get their wish.

Guests:
Lisa Krieger, reporter for the San Jose Mercury News and author of a personal story about her experience as her father died
Alexander Smith, assistant professor of medicine at UCSF's Division of Gerontology
Kate O'Malley, senior program officer with the California HealthCare Foundation
Dr. Charles Garfield, founder of Shanti and clinical professor of psychology at UCSF and a visiting scholar at the Graduate Theological Union in Berkeley.

• Jacquelinedl

i am a medical social worker in sonoma county and feel great frustration with the medical system and the unfortunate financial burden that falls upon families. I am very interested in hearing how other countries deal with frail elders and end of life care.

• Jane

I am from England and both my parents lived there. Both ended up in a nursing home (both 92) seven weeks apart and they both died there with no diagnosed cause, though my father i think had had a mini stroke and was having difficulty swallowing.  No intervention was made in either case.  Many elderly go to facilities looking more like country homes than the monster places one sees around here. Quality varies enormously but so does the cost. All is not free with national health. Most i think prefer to stay in their own homes to the end or until they are bed ridden.

• Lauraaice