Former Washington, D.C. schools chancellor Michelle Rhee has brought her “no excuses” brand of education reform to Northern California. Rhee founded the nonprofit organization StudentsFirst last year, and has based it in her new home in Sacramento. In this new role, Rhee continues to doggedly promote policies — like merit pay and accountability through test scores — that made her a controversial figure in her old job.

Michelle Rhee, founder and CEO of StudentsFirst, former chancellor of Washington, D.C. public schools and founder of The New Teacher Project

• Cate

I am a Nationally Board Certified teacher. National Boards is a nationally recognized, teacher led reform that has proven it works in developing, growing and retaining accomplished teachers. Furthermore it is fully supported as the clear response to merit pay based on test scores. How many National Boards teachers did she have the privilege of supporting and rewarding under her tenure as head of DC schools? Was she then and is she now a champion of National Board Certification? Is she working to ensure that teachers are fully aware of the process, fully supported as they attempt certification and, finally rewarded generously for their accomplishment?

• Greckskin

The direction we’re taking education is opposite what research is showing us: The importance of play, developing fine motor skills, and NOT cramming academics too early. The benefits of learning a second language and playing a musical instrument last throughout life and these skills are best learned early.
    If a child who can and wants to read in kindergarten, great. But Most kids are not developmentally ready until later. Let’s not penalize them for being normal.
    Also, merit pay for teachers is a terrible idea. The unintended negative consequences are not difficult to predict.

• Kate