MobilePhones

Do you sleep with your iPhone? Check your work email at the beach? We talk with filmmaker and Webby Awards founder Tiffany Shlain about her new documentary “Connected,” which explores our complex relationship with technology.

Guests:
Tiffany Shlain, filmmaker, Webby Awards founder, co-founder of the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences and a Henry Crown fellow at The Aspen Institute

• Angela Orr

I was one of the lucky ones who met Ms. Shlain at the Sundance Film Festival. I’m a Geography professor at a Bay Area community college who teaches students about the interconnections between *everything*–people and places, events and physical phenomena–and can’t wait to integrate Connected into my curriculum. Can Ms. Shlain please share with the audience her recommendations for doing so in the most engaging way?

If only the concept of interdependence were to take hold globally, we might learn to think of the Big Picture (the way geographers do) before we act…or allow others to act in our names.

Thank you for a wonderful program!

• Mrbgibbs

A pet-peave about connectedness: people that walk down the street staring down at their tiny screens, not watching where they’re going, but also seemingly failing to take in the physical world, make eye contact, or simply look up in the sky.

• Derek Powazek

Creating technology is the defining characteristic of being human. The technology we create makes us more human, not less.

• Rufus

So the machine gun made us more human?

• Fay

What your missing is the TIME-WASTING factor and bringing it with you,
    unlike TV. I work at in the dotcom gulch of SouthPark in the City, where
    I see daily,  streams of younger people stepping outside into the
    lovely park to immediately whip out their phones and prattle on. Sorry,
    but to me it’s ‘mental masturbation’. And the difference between too
    many hours of watching TV as a kid, is that the TV stayed home; the TV