Binge on Student Academy Award Winners!

| September 16, 2015

It’s that time of year again to celebrate student filmmakers! Since 1972, the Student Academy Awards has honored the best and brightest from colleges and universities film students from all over the United States, and we’ve got just the right films to get you excited for this year’s winners! Binge watch films and speeches from past winners on our Student Academy Awards playlist:

The ceremony will take place this Thursday, September 17th at The Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills. Medals will be announced for the following 2015 winners:

Listed alphabetically by film title:


Chiaroscuro, Daniel Drummond, Chapman University, California

Zoe, ChiHyun Lee, The School of Visual Arts, New York


An Object at Rest, Seth Boyden, California Institute of the Arts

Soar, Alyce Tzue, Academy of Art University, San Francisco

Taking the Plunge, Nicholas Manfredi and Elizabeth Ku-Herrero, The School of Visual Arts


Boxeadora, Meg Smaker, Stanford University

I Married My Family’s Killer, Emily Kassie, Brown University

Looking at the Stars, Alexandre Peralta, University of Southern California


Day One, Henry Hughes, American Film Institute, California

Stealth, Bennett Lasseter, American Film Institute

This Way Up, Jeremy Cloe, American Film Institute

Foreign Film

Everything Will Be Okay…, Patrick Vollrath, Filmakademie Wien, Austria

Fidelity, Ilker Çatak, Hamburg Media School, Germany

The Last Will, Dustin Loose, Filmakademie Baden-Wuerttemberg, Germany

Film School Shorts filmmakers who have won a Student Academy Award include Luke Matheny (God of Love), Mark Raso (Under), Mauro Mueller (Un Mundo para Raúl), Justin Tipping (Nani), Keola Racela (Above the Sea), Eusong Lee (Will), and Ashley Graham, Kate Reynolds, and Lindsey St. Pierre (Dia de los Muertos).




Un Mundo para Raúl


Above the Sea




Dia de los Muertos

Category: Uncategorized

Tweets by @FilmSchoolShort


Film School Shorts is made possible by a grant from Maurice Kanbar, celebrating the vitality and power of the moving image, and by the members of KQED.

Film School Shorts is a production of KQED.



Series Producer
Lisa Landi

Associate Producer
Julia Shackelford

Peter Borg

Zaldy Serrano
Christina Zee White

Original Music
Written and Produced by

John Andrieni

Kevin Cooke
Marie K Lee

Social Media Specialist
Aldo Mora-Blanco

Sarah Hoffner

On Air Promotion
Bridget Louie

William Lowery
Abby Staeble

Director of TV Production
Sandy Schonning

Executive Producer
Scott Dwyer