Buster Ballgame is the first Giant Rookie of the Year since pitcher John “The Count” Montefusco in 1975.

From AP:

NEW YORK (AP) San Francisco Giants catcher Buster Posey and Texas Rangers closer Neftali Feliz have been voted the Rookies of the Year.

Posey won the National League award in voting announced Monday by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America. Feliz won the American League honor.

Posey drew 20 first-place votes on the 32 ballots. He was called up from Triple-A in late May and hit .305 with 18 home runs and 67 RBIs for the eventual World Series champions.

Feliz set a rookie record with 40 saves in helping Texas reach the World Series for the first time. The rocket-armed righty was listed first on 20 of the 28 ballots.

Voting was done by two BBWAA members in each league city after the regular season.

Read the latest story version from AP.

  • Buster Posey Named NL Rookie of the Year 15 November,2010Jon Brooks

  • Author

    Jon Brooks

    Jon Brooks is the host and editor of KQED’s health and technology blog, Future of You. He is the former editor of KQED’s daily news blog, News Fix. A veteran blogger, he previously worked for Yahoo! in various news writing and editing roles. He was also the editor of EconomyBeat.org, which documented user-generated content about the financial crisis and recession. Jon is also a playwright whose work has been produced in San Francisco, New York, Italy, and around the U.S. He has written about film for his own blog and studied film at Boston University. He has an MFA in Creative Writing from Brooklyn College.

    Sponsored by

    Become a KQED sponsor