(Getty Images)

Dan Rothstein and Luz Santana think students aren’t asking enough questions in today’s classrooms. Instead, the co-founders of The Right Question Institute are proposing a new learning method: let students ask their own questions, and have the teacher there as a facilitator. They believe it’s important for all students to learn how to ask their own questions, and in doing so, they’ll better understand the math problem or historical period they’re studying. So what are the right questions? We invite educators, parents and students to join the discussion.

Guests:
Dan Rothstein, co-director of The Right Question Institute and co-author of "Make Just One Change: Teaching Students to Ask Their Own Questions"
Luz Santana, co-director of The Right Question Institute and co-author of "Make Just One Change: Teaching Students to Ask Their Own Questions"

• elis

can’t wait to hear this!

• As a high-school English teacher, I had my best success when I taught the class Socratic dialogue in discussing literature. It was hard at first for them to learn that the best question was an authentic one — one they really wanted to understand and one that wouldn’t have a yes/no answer, but after teaching that, the rest of the term yielded much better discussion and they became my best disparagers of “easy” questions. The test of a good question was which one yielded the most discussion.

• Denise

I would invite educators who are trying to get students to ask questions to visit The Nueva School http://www.nuevaschool.org in nearby Hillsborough. These students are actively engaged in their education, are involved in Design Thinking from Pre K on, and ask great questions all day every day. Have your guests visited the school?

• Elisabeth Bowles