(Kevin Shockey/Flickr)

Jen Pahlka founded Code for America, a Bay Area non-profit working to reshape the way government works through the use of technology and public service. She joins us in the studio as part of our “First Person” series on the leaders, innovators and other compelling characters that make the Bay Area unique.

Guests:
Jennifer Pahlka, founder and executive director of Code for America, which works with web professionals and cities around the country to promote public service and reboot government

• Kris

I think Code for America is truly an innovative and genius approach to helping  local governments bring information and services to the people. I’m a government information librarian, and am wondering if any cities out there are looking for information infrastructure solutions to manage and archive their publications, information, data, etc.

• Pete

With so many applicants (both geek and gov) what limits expanding your programs to more cities?

• Sanfordia113

This is a great project. Very libertarian, too! The problem people have with government is that it is slow and usurps citizens’ rights to participate in society, by socializing tasks and costs. When the government forces people to pay high taxes so the government can turn around and hire cronies to provide bad service, people get disillusioned. When people can participate through voluntary contributions in collective self-interested motives, the system inherently works better.

• Carnot Antonio Romero

Two things: 1) you won’t always get enough, or properly distributed, voluntary contributions of money, skill, labor etc.. 2) you seem quite convinced that government does nothing but siphon money to cronies. It’s just not that simple, and it’s just not that bad out there.

• Richard Burg

Exciting mix of volunteerism, knowledge, innovation, and action. Two questions:
    1. Are governments only ‘clients’?
    What about other non-profit entities. Hospitals, schools, NGOs, etc.